From Arctic Tundra to Tech: My Journey to Brighter Work Days

Workday Life
5 min readSep 19, 2023

--

I’ve had an interest in tech since I was a kid (I made my first website when I was 10!). It’s logical but creative; a resource to turn my ideas into reality. In highschool I got my first job working in an electronics store. I learned how to fix all sorts of things and I thought a Raspberry PI could solve any problem. I decided to forego university to work as a network administrator for the Canadian government where I spent eight years living in Nunavut, Canada in the Arctic Tundra. I learned about system design, security, data management and so much more. Eventually, the limited growth opportunities of such a remote location and outdated approach to technology made me realize I needed to look elsewhere if I wanted to grow. Plus, the weather sucked. So how did I go from being a network admin living in a remote area to a Sr Associate Software Development Engineer at Workday Vancouver? Let’s explore my journey into tech and what life at Workday has been like ever since.

A Tech Odyssey: Becoming a Developer

Not to be cliché but after living in Nunavut, I was looking for a brighter workday. I packed a bag and flew someplace warmer, which landed me in Vancouver, BC. I made the decision that I wanted to be a software developer, it felt like I’d already been one in my free time all along. I watched a lot of “day in the life of x developer” videos, which helped me decide that I wanted to make web apps as a full-stack developer. Since I had no relevant work experience, I made projects and posted them to GitHub to gain exposure and experience. I believe the best way to learn something is to get the fundamentals down and do it from scratch. My warm up projects had a UI written from pure HTML, CSS and Javascript, with a very simple self-written web server. They were NOT good, but it helped me later on since I now knew what was going on under the hood for any framework I used. Before my final project, I looked at job postings, researched frameworks, and picked out my tech stack: React, Node, Express and MongoDB. It would be fully Javascript frontend-to-backend. As for the project itself, I wanted an app that would actually be useful to someone: a market analysis tool for a video game I was playing. Since this project had a “customer” in mind (players of the video game) I needed it to look good and actually work. It took a number of months to get my app to a place I was happy with. Google and Stack Overflow were my best friends. When it was finally done I knew I was as ready as I could be.

Navigating the Job Search: Finding my Place

My job search was stressful. I had no degree and my work experience was not very relevant. On paper, I was not hireable. Most companies simply never replied, the ones I did talk to made it clear that the lack of a degree put me at a disadvantage. I felt that they were uninterested (or sometimes even put off) by my unconventional background. It didn’t help that I was picky. I wanted to be compensated at a fair market rate, to work with a good team and have growth opportunities. When I actually got an interview, the jobs were for less than I wanted, usually by myself and with no clear movement. When I interviewed at Workday, it was totally different. The interviewers were interested in knowing my journey and the skills I could bring-and they applauded my self-learning. I read up on Workday’s core values and felt aligned to them. Not the mention the company is thriving. Their offer was competitive despite my lackluster resume. With Workday, I felt like a person instead of a series of boxes to be checked off.

The Workday Experience: Growth and Friendship

Since joining Workday a year and a half ago, I’ve been actively encouraged to grow and step outside my comfort zone. There are so many learning workshops, events, and initiatives I can take part in. Every week I feel that I’m being handed opportunities to grow. Social events and Workclubs have allowed me to naturally network with other teams so that I understand our products better. If I ever need a change, internal mobility is encouraged and Workday offers temporary gigs on different teams to expand your skills. Personally, I’ve met some of my best friends at Workday. I have the opportunity to invest in my health through wellness benefits and I go to the work gym all the time. Most importantly, I’m surrounded by people who really want to see me succeed and are willing to help me on my journey.

Why Workday

Workday not only welcomed my unique journey, but nurtured it with a culture that values innovation, embraces individuality, and prioritizes the well-being of its employees. In a field like tech where things are constantly changing, it’s easy to stagnate and fall behind. At Workday, you’re constantly growing and feel prepared to meet new changes. Innovation is celebrated and ideas are encouraged. The culture here is centered around employees-first and that means you’re treated like a human being. Your growth, health and happiness are a priority which results in the best you, leading to your best work.

Workday is shaping the future of business while helping make people’s work days brighter. We’re looking for people who are inspired by our mission. Our Product & Technology teams are growing, visit our careers page or send me a message to learn more.

A brighter work day is just around the corner☀️. Explore career opportunities here. For more #WDAYLife content, follow us on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

--

--

Workday Life

A view into #WDAYLife as told through our culture and the stories of our Workmates. Your work days are brighter here☀️.